The 10 Best Things I’ve Ever Eaten (Part 1)

One of my all time favorite bloggers, (Emily Schuman of Cupcakes and Cashmere), recently did a post on the 15 best things that she had ever eaten. While I have not traveled to many countries outside of the US in my short life span, I have traveled all around our country and I thought I would create my own list of the 10 best things I have ever eaten, here is the first part of the installment!

Image via

Burger // The PrimeTime (Hopdoddy // Austin, Texas)
The PrimeTime burger at Hopdoddy is far and away the best burger I have ever had (and yes my fellow Californians, that includes In n’ Out Burger). The combination of melty delicious brie cheese,
the earthiness of the truffle oil and the tantalizing buttery taste of caramelized onions brinks on life-changing. Plus their burgers are made with HeartBrand Akaushi beef that is grown naturally and with no growth hormones. The line at Hopdoddy can go around the block and take hours, but I swear it is more than worth it. If you are still hungry after (which I doubt) grab a Nutella chocolate pretzel milkshake. It is out of this world.

Image via

Pasta // Fettuccine Alfredo with Truffle Shavings (Allegro Romano // San Francisco, California)

Allegro Romano is probably the nicest overall dining experience I have ever had. The waiters treat you like royalty (not surprising since they have catered to the likes of Brad Pitt and Ashton Kutcher) and always go the extra mile to make you feel at home.They waiters even brought the ladies of the table roses when we were leaving! Their fettuccine with white truffle Pate sauce is out of this world good. It melts in your mouth and has a flavor like nothing you have ever tasted. Chef Lorenzo even brought out the truffles they had just gotten from Piedmont, Italy to show us before they shaved them onto our dish! Talk about amazing aesthetics!

Image via

Cocktail // The Blackbird (The Smith // New York, New York)
OK in truth, the first time I got this cocktail I was not yet 21 and it was the first time I had ever been served in a restaurant (disclaimer: they did card me so I can’t get anyone in trouble here!). I was living in New York for the first time and I got this drink many times after that (despite the fact that I was dirt poor and it is a $13 cocktail). It’s crazy blend of smoky rye whiskey, the citrus of the lemon salt and odd tang of the elderberry bitters will blow your mind hole.

Image via
Coffee // The George Blend (The Little Marionette // Sydney, Australia)
This coffee was the first time I ever really realized how acidic coffee is, and I mean that in the best way possible. America has a bad habit of making coffee into a sweet, milky, treat (I’m totally guilty) and not taking it for what it is; which is something beautifully bitter and bold. The George blend also has some really punchy fruit undertones that add an incredible complexity to its flavor. An extra perk? This place has the absolute coolest interior ever! They even have a secret bookcase that opens into another room….seriously it is like Hogwarts in there.

Image via

Tapas // Moroccan meatballs, bacon wrapped dates (Bite // Tahoe,  California)
This restaurant is my absolute favorite place to go after a full day on the slopes. There are so many impressive dishes on the menu and I always get a few since it is tapas after all. My top two favorites are the bacon wrapped dates and the moroccan lamb meatballs. The bacon dates have a salty and smoky flavor that mixes perfectly with the sweet, tanginess of the dates! When it comes to the moroccan meatballs, they are so complex and delicious it is unbelievable. They are served with a refreshing minty chimichurri that really enhances the flavor and lifts every bite. If you have room after be sure to grab their bite sized ice cream sammies! To die for.

2 thoughts on “The 10 Best Things I’ve Ever Eaten (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

