Happy 1 Year Blogiversary + A Yummy Vegan Chocolate Cake

 I was blown away this past weekend when I looked back through my old editorial calendar and realized that today was my one year blog anniversary (you can see my first highly mediocre post here). To be one hundred percent honest, I never thought that my blog would take the direction that it has and I must say that not only am I proud of the shape my blog has taken, I am also so excited for what is lying in wait on the horizon. If you told me a year ago that I was going to work with Aveda, EOS, and Tiny Prints, among so many others, or that people would be paying me to wear their clothes, I would have said you were nuts. I am not trying to sound like I have made it big (I still have such a longggg way to go), but blogging is starting to become a very integral and exciting part of my daily life as well as my identity. 

I also wanted to take this opportunity to say a special thanks to all of my readers out there because without you this blog would mean a whole lot less to me. Your daily comments and encouraging messages mean the world to me and I am so excited to continue this journey into something amazing, together. I am so very eager to see where Something Swell is a year from today!

OK enough mushy, sentimental talk, let us get to the best part of anniversaries…CAKE. I found this recipe on one of my favorite bloggers websites (Minimalist Baker) and made a few tweaks to it. Instead of powdered sugar in the frosting I actually decided to use coconut sugar, which seemed to give the cake some additional texture. Also I added a few less teaspoons of coconut oil and bumped up the applesauce to fill it in. This is definitely the best chocolate I have ever had, vegan or otherwise and I hope you guys love it! Finally, the best part, you can make the whole thing in ONE. BOWL. Including the frosting! There is nothing I love more than efficiency in the kitchen, and that means not leaving a huge a** pile of dishes in the sink! YAHOO!

16 thoughts on “Happy 1 Year Blogiversary + A Yummy Vegan Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

