Period Panties – Two Gross Words, One Life Changing Product

OK so the title kinda says it all on this one. When shark week pops up/you’re surfing the crimson wave/Mr. T is in town – whatever you like to call it, it is an overarching taboo subject in our culture and the brand Thinx is trying to change that. Because, let’s face it ladies,  as much as we don’t like chatting about riding the cotton pony, it is a part of our daily (…monthly) existence and it is something we don’t chat about openly enough! To be completely honest, when I first heard about the brand Thinx’s product – underwear so absorbent that you don’t have to use pads or tampons – I had visions of trying to wear your wet bikini bottoms home under your jeans after a pool party because you forgot underwear. EWW GRAHS! Right? WRONG.

To say that Thinx is a life changing product might be the understatement of the century. I received one pair of panties to review for this post, but truth be told, after the first time I wore them I immediately went online and bought three more pairs in varying styles/colors. I loved them so much I tossed my tampons into a bonfire then ran around it chanting “My oven may be in cleaning mode, but at least I am comfortable!”. OK I didn’t really do that because it would be wasteful (another benefit to not needing to buy tampons/pads in the future, much more sustainable!)

To get a little TMI here, my period can be a toughie in terms of blood loss as well as it’s perpetual ability to overstay its welcome. I love running, but I have a great deal of difficulty running for over an hour with just one tampon in. This led to my decision to get the sport cut since it protects from chafing and is super breathable. Not only are these my new best friend for working out, they are also perfect for everyday use. I wore mine all day on my heaviest day while I did tons of activities – picnicking, shopping, hiking and getting drunk on a patio – with no issues.

Oh and I haven’t even gotten to the best part! Thinx functions on a business model similar to that of Tom’s or Warby Parker, the “buy one give some sort” of model. For every pair of panties you purchase, they donate funds to AFRIpads, which is a company in Uganda that not only provides women with reusable cloth pads, it also employs them by teaching them how to make them. I had no idea what a terrible issue periods can be for girls in developing countries and was shocked to learn that it actually forces many girls to drop out of school.

So my verdict is out. These panties are the bomb. Not only are you supporting your fellow women in developing countries, you are finally being granted an effective and sustainable solution to your monthly grievances.

Have you tried period panties before?
*This post was sponsored by Thinx. All opinions are, and will always be, my own. Thank you for supporting the content that keeps Something Swell going.*


32 thoughts on “Period Panties – Two Gross Words, One Life Changing Product

  1. Annie Abbey says:

    Great questions Colleen! Yes you freely bleed and the panties absorb it in the second layer, while the top layer wicks away the moisture so you are not “sitting in your own blood” so to speak. Additionally the layers are completely anti-microbial so all bacteria is killed. If you want to learn more you can check out their about page http://www.shethinx.com/pages/it-works 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

